SAE 1018 Carbon Steel
Mat Grades internal verification confirms source-backed fidelity and data integrity. It does not constitute external certification, ASTM/CDA endorsement, or guaranteed material conformity for procurement.
Key Engineering Properties
Representative source rows, qualified by their reported conditions. Inspect the tables below for all values, limits, and source notes.
Engineering Summary
SAE 1018 Carbon Steel. Source-scoped engineering data is shown with its reported limits and conditions. Unreported properties are not inferred.
Recognized Aliases
Source-backed commercial trade name and short designations cataloged in canonical data.
Standard Designations & Applicable Specifications
Semantically classified designations distinguishing primary standard identifiers, commercial trade names, and applicable specification references.
| System | Identifier | Standard System Name | Classification Notes & Provenance |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAEPRIMARY | 1018 | SAE | —Ref: Practical Data for Metallurgists, 19th edition |
| AISI | 1018 | AISI | —Ref: Practical Data for Metallurgists, 19th edition |
| Standards Body | Specification Code | Specification Title / Scope | Relationship Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAE | SAE 1018 Carbon Steel Engineering Datasheet | Applicable specification reference. | Specification Reference |
Chemical Composition (Weight %)
Elemental limits and values from the cited source. Preserves exact semantic limits (minimums, maximums, and ranges).
| Element | Symbol | Atomic No. | Semantic Basis | Specified Value | Unit | Metallurgical Notes & Qualification | Data Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carbon | C | 6 | RANGE | 0.15 – 0.20 | wt% | Source cell: .15/.20. Scope: p4, SAE 1018.Ref: Metallus | VERIFIED |
| Manganese | Mn | 25 | RANGE | 0.60 – 0.90 | wt% | Source cell: .60/.90. Scope: p4, SAE 1018.Ref: Metallus | VERIFIED |
| Phosphorus | P | 15 | MAXIMUM | ≤ 0.04 | wt% | Source cell: .040max. Scope: p4, SAE 1018.Ref: Metallus | VERIFIED |
| Sulfur | S | 16 | MAXIMUM | ≤ 0.05 | wt% | Source cell: .050max. Scope: p4, SAE 1018.Ref: Metallus | VERIFIED |
Physical Properties
Source-specific physical properties. Test temperatures are shown only where reported.
| Property Parameter | Canonical SI Value | Semantic Basis | Test Temperature / Context Range | Source Raw Reference | Source Reference | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Density | 7.87 g/cm³ | TYPICAL | 7.87 g/cm3 | Metallus | VERIFIED | |
| Elastic Modulus | 205 GPa | TYPICAL | 205 GPa | Metallus | VERIFIED | |
| Poisson's Ratio | 0.29 dimensionless | TYPICAL | 0.29 dimensionless | Metallus | VERIFIED |
Thermal & Thermodynamic Properties
Phase change temperatures, thermal conductivity, specific heat, mean coefficients of thermal expansion across standardized temperature ranges, and recommended thermal processing windows.
| Property Parameter | Canonical SI Value | Semantic Basis | Test Temperature / Context Range | Source Raw Reference | Source Reference | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Specific Heat Capacity | 486 J/(kg·K) | TYPICAL | 486 J/(kg·K) | Metallus | VERIFIED | |
| Coefficient of Thermal Expansion | 11.7 µm/(m·K) | TYPICAL | Test Temp: 100 °C | 11.7 10^-6/K | Metallus | VERIFIED |
| Thermal Conductivity | 51.9 W/(m·K) | TYPICAL | Test Temp: 100 °C | 51.9 W/(m·K) | Metallus | VERIFIED |
Contextual Mechanical Properties & Tempers
Engineering strength, ductility, and hardness values grouped by product form, temper, and section thickness. Mechanical properties are contextual and not isotropic averages.
| Product Form | Temper / Condition | Section Size | Tensile (UTS) | Yield Strength | Elongation | Shear Strength | Fatigue Strength | Hardness (Scales Preserved) | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bar | Hot rolled (estimated minimum)Source values and qualifiersTensile Strength: ≥ 399.9 MPa (MINIMUM)Producer estimated minimum, not a certified or guaranteed specification limit. Section size and test temperature are not stated.Metallus — p118, SAE and AISI 1018 Yield Strength: ≥ 220.6 MPa (MINIMUM)Producer estimated minimum, not a certified or guaranteed specification limit. Section size and test temperature are not stated.Metallus — p118, SAE and AISI 1018 Elongation: ≥ 25 % (MINIMUM)Producer estimated minimum, not a certified or guaranteed specification limit. Section size and test temperature are not stated. Elongation gauge length: 2 in.Metallus — p118, SAE and AISI 1018 Reduction Of Area: ≥ 50 % (MINIMUM)Producer estimated minimum, not a certified or guaranteed specification limit. Section size and test temperature are not stated.Metallus — p118, SAE and AISI 1018 HB Hardness: ≥ 116 HB (MINIMUM)Producer estimated minimum, not a certified or guaranteed specification limit. Section size and test temperature are not stated.Metallus — p118, SAE and AISI 1018 | — | ≥ 399.9 MPa | ≥ 220.6 MPa | ≥ 25 % | — | — | ≥ 116 HB | VERIFIED |
| Bar | Cold Drawn Bar · Cold DrawnSource values and qualifiersUltimate Tensile Strength: ≥ 440 MPa (MINIMUM)ASTM A108Metallus — p119, Estimated Minimum Mechanical Properties of Cold-Drawn Carbon Steel Bars, SAE 1018 Reduction of Area: ≥ 40 % (MINIMUM)ASTM A108Metallus — p119, Estimated Minimum Mechanical Properties of Cold-Drawn Carbon Steel Bars, SAE 1018 | — · 19 to 32 mm (3/4 to 1-1/4 in) | ≥ 440 MPa | — | — | — | — | — | VERIFIED |
| Bar | Cold Drawn Bar · Cold DrawnSource values and qualifiersYield Strength: ≥ 370 MPa (MINIMUM)ASTM A108 (0.2% offset)Metallus — p119, Estimated Minimum Mechanical Properties of Cold-Drawn Carbon Steel Bars, SAE 1018 | — · 19 to 32 mm (3/4 to 1-1/4 in) | — | ≥ 370 MPa | — | — | — | — | VERIFIED |
| Bar | Cold Drawn Bar · Cold DrawnSource values and qualifiersElongation at Break: ≥ 15 % (MINIMUM)ASTM A108Metallus — p119, Estimated Minimum Mechanical Properties of Cold-Drawn Carbon Steel Bars, SAE 1018 | — · in 50 mm (2 in) | — | — | ≥ 15 % | — | — | — | VERIFIED |
| Bar | Cold Drawn BarSource values and qualifiersHB Hardness: ≥ 126 HB (MINIMUM)Metallus — p119, Estimated Minimum Mechanical Properties of Cold-Drawn Carbon Steel Bars, SAE 1018 | — | — | — | — | — | — | ≥ 126 HB | VERIFIED |
Sources & Provenance Trail
Reference publications and standards organization registers cited across this material record.
Reviewed factual transcription; source document SHA-256 is recorded in the capture metadata. No cross-standard equivalence is asserted.
Reviewed factual transcription from primary producer engineering datasheet.
Reviewed factual transcription from primary producer engineering datasheet.
Reviewed factual transcription from primary producer engineering datasheet.
Reviewed factual transcription; source document SHA-256 is recorded in the capture metadata. No cross-standard equivalence is asserted.
Reviewed factual transcription from primary producer engineering datasheet.